Labour of Love

“In 40 minutes your world can change”, said Nigel as he dropped us back to our car in Masinagudi.

We are in the foothills of Ooty having spent the morning at Nigel’s horse farm in Masingudi for Ayaan’s first riding lessons.

Masinagudi falls on the rain shadow side of Nilgiris mountains. Its typically hot and dry through the year.

The Ooty – Masinagudi road also called the Kalhatty climb is famous for its 36 hairpin bends. In a span of 40 minutes you switch from thermal and wollen socks to a simple T shirt and shorts.

The Tour oF Nilgiris (TFN) a famous cycling event in India concludes with the Kalhatty climb. The Kalhatty climb is officially termed ” something beyond categorisation”. Each time I drive up im in awe of my friend Tarun who has scaled it twice in succession.

Today in the Horse Farm at Masinagudi Ayaan had his first riding lessons conducted by Illona, Nigel’s Finnish wife.

During the week Illona manages the India chapter of Worldwide Veterinary Service (WVS), Ooty. On weekends the family falls back to the farm in the foothills and offers riding lessons.

What was incredible was that despite her busy schedule Illona took personal care and gave Ayaan a detailed one on one class.

If there was an example of love and compassion for your profession this was it.

Today, unknown to me, I was going to experience examples of Labour of Love multiple times.

Back in Ooty in the afternoon, post Lunch we decided to head out to complete our weekend chores.

I realise its a busy day as with a long weekend there are numerous tourists. We stop at Modern Store, the hip and also the biggest store in our town.

Im crouching at a low rack deciding which biscuits to pickup when a man walk over to help. I look up and realise its a familiar face. Its Mr Murali, the owner.

“Which biscuits would you recommend besides the common Varkey?”, I enquire.

” Try the Ajwain (Caraway) biscuits”, he responds, which I promptly pick up.

” Aren’t you Mr Murali the owner?” I ask.

A smile appears and we have a small chat before we bid goodbye.

As I bill I hear the chatter from the tourists.
“The fudge is quite good”
“We should take the dark chocolates”.

And unknown to them today Mr Murali gloved up has stationed himself behind the chocolate counter and is personally packing and attending to customers.

Finally with most of shopping done we are tracking back home. I decide to take a longer route to avoid the traffic.

As we pass the Ooty railway station famous for the Nilgiri mountain train, Ayaan suddenly calls out.

“Dad, we haven’t been to Jyothi Cookies for a while”.

“Sure it’s right next door, lets have a look”.

A few minutes later we are parked in their compound which houses their small factory and residential quarter.

Jyoti Cookies retails their products through the stores. But to the occasional visitor who can find them it offers a small retail counter within their premise.

As I enter I noticed two changes, the layout of the Counter has changed. And instead of old Mr Mehta there is a younger woman who I assume is his enterprising daughter Jyoti who runs the business.

” Hi, I guess you changed the layout”, I ask.

” Yes, but its just temporary, we should go back to the previous one in a couple of weeks”, she responds.

” Your father isn’t here today?” I enquire.

She looks me in the eyes, ” He passed away two weeks back”.

I freeze and notice that right behind her is a frame of Mr Mehta with a small garland.

I share with her how I would look forward to our little chats as I would come by to pick up fresh cookies, especially the wheat and jaggery cookies.

” Yes, though he was old he enjoyed meeting customers who made it here”.

As we continue our soft conversation there is a movement in the back door. A hand pulls apart a curtain and an old woman with a large expressive eyes walks out.

There are no words exchanged. Just a faint smile on our faces as we look at each other.

As I step out I give a look back and Old Mrs Mehta is looking at me. We wave at each other.

_–+++++———

5 thoughts on “Labour of Love

Leave a comment